Where’s Your Wallet?

My assistant brought to my attention a problem that we treat all of the time.  We have decided to take a more proactive approach to treating it by educating everyone.  The problem is your wallet.  Have you looked at your wallet recently?  Many are an inch thick or more.  Most people carry their wallet in their back pocket.  Then they sit on that wallet sometimes all day long, causing their pelvis to be shifted on one side for the majority of the day.  They then come into my office with pain in their back and hips and sometimes even sciatica on that side.  What seems obvious to us does not to someone who has kept their wallet there for years and never had a problem.  Sometimes it just takes a pair of eyes looking from the outside to see the obvious.

I’ve been treating these types of complaints for a while now, and I councel people about their wallet.  In my office we are now being proactive and letting everyone know.  It didn’t take much just a small poster with a picture of me from behind, sitting, and then another identical picture of me with a small one inch object under my right hip.  The result was almost instantaneous.  Now people walk into my office with their wallet in their hand and ask me where I put mine.  I don’t even have to tell them about it.

If you’re wanting to change this in your life it just takes consistancy like building any good habit you’ll for get for the first little while, but keep it up and you’ll remember that your wallet is in your side pocket and stop reaching around back eventually.

2 thoughts on “Where’s Your Wallet?

  1. Broomfield Chiropractor

    This piece of simple advice has done wonders for my back. I used to get lower back pain and spasms on a regular basis. Once I stopped sitting on my wallet all the time, my back feels stronger and more stable under stress. Now I feel completely uncomfortable when I have my wallet in my back pocket and I sit down. Good advice, totally common sense and very easy to make this change.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

