Obama Win May Mean Commissioning of Chiropractors in the Military

I’ve always tried to avoid talking politics on this blog, which for me is difficult, as I’m very patriotic and interested in the function of our government.  However, I thought today I would weigh in on how the election may effect the profession of chiropractic, without trying to give away my leanings. 

Regarding chiropractic, President Elect, Barack Obama has recently said, in a letter to the American Chiropractic Association,

“We need to expand the range of chiropractic services covered by Medicare, facilitate integration of doctors of chiropractic into the health care systems of the Department of Veterans Affairs and Department of Defense, and allow commission of doctors of chiropractic as officers in the Commissioned Corps of the U.S. Public Health Service”

This may be a prime time for chiropractors to get some good policies in place, to push for commissioning of chiropractors in the military and getting all of our troops the chiropractic care they need and deserve.  I urge all chiropractors, patients, friends and family to look into your newly elected officials.  What ever their policies and agendas may be they are our elected officials, and represent us, and now may be a prime season to move the cause of chiropractic forward.

Election day is not the only day that we should participate in our government.  It is a government by the people.  Our representatives need to hear from us now as they are preparing for the transition.  If we let them know what we want done now we may be able to get something done before they start running for re-election.

There are still two resolutions sitting in committees in congress.  Let’s get chiropractors commissioned in this election cycle!

9 thoughts on “Obama Win May Mean Commissioning of Chiropractors in the Military

  1. LT IWO

    I would welcome this full heartedly. I am an active duty LT, and have been struggling with the decision to leave active duty to get my DC. I have yearned to be a Chiropractor yet do not want to get out of the military halfway to a pension, or leave the security provided for my wife and children. I have been writing letters, meeting with Medical Corps doctors, and advocating Chiropractic sicne I have been in – begging for a program that would allow me to do two things that I like at the same time. The DoD would save hundreds of millions of dollars in drug costs, lost work, and disability benefits with the addition of DC’s to the Medical Service Corps. The time IS NOW! I will be the first one to volunteer for such a program and sign the contracts!

    Reply
  2. Kimberly

    I am going to be attending National Chiropractic College in the fall, however I am joining the Army Reserves, and I am greatly hoping that by the time I have finished my D.C. degree, I will be able to become a commissioned officer for the ARMY. I fully think that the military would not only benefit financial, but morally, and in many other ways by having chriopractors in the military. I hope that the time comes sooner than later that we can commission, for I will be the first to sign!!!

    Reply
  3. Robert Hatcher

    I have been in the Marine Corps for thirteen years now. I graduated from Palmer College of Chiropractic in 2004, one month early so that I could deploy to Iraq. I have been hoping to switch to the Army or Navy with a commission soon. Everytime I inquire or ask around, people tell me that they have a Chiropractor where they work or have seen them on the base. Most peole don’t realize that these are civilian contracted Chiropractors, and are not associated with the military. I would adjust about 15 Marines a night in Iraq after working all day, including the CO of the company I was with. I have also helped the Army out with some musculoskeletal injuries while on a humanitarian mission in the Dominican Republic and they loved me. Most everyone I speak with feels that would love to have access to Chiropractic care. What the heck is the hold up. I am willing to go back on active duty for the next 20 years if I can get a commission, I will do whatever it takes. I hope something happens soon.

    Reply
  4. Deborah Stano

    Having spent 14 years serving in both an Active and Drilling Reservist Status ( 8yrs and 6 yrs respectively) as a Hospital Corpsman/FMF, I am first to admit that Chiropractors should be commissioned officers in the military.
    Having worked in numerous emergency rooms, military sick calls and family practice clinics I have seen first hand the poor dealings of “typical neck and back pain complaints” by allopathic and osteopathic physicians.
    While on AD I accepted the fact that the best course of action for the treatment of musculoskeletal pain was MOTRIN, Flexeril, and bed rest….Yes, the beloved Vitamin M. However, I started to question these practices – Who were they benefiting?, were we just writing and handing out prescriptions because we were not sure what exactly needed to be done for these patients? The questions were endless, but the answers were even fewer.
    My decision to become a chiropractor was rather simple given the practices I observed while on AD. I do believe that there is a time and place for prescription medication and surgery for musculoskeletal complaints, but I firmly believe what I experienced as a medical provider was the effects of having to carry extra weight, working for prolonged periods of times, repetitive stress injuries, and personnel not having the proper training to prevent such injuries.
    I encourage President Obama to seek further guidance from experienced Chiropractors, as well as the numerous military personnel that would benefit from DC’s becoming commissioned officers.

    Reply
  5. Lt. Tilman Johnson

    I’m an officer currnetly serving the country now in an deployment in Afganistan. I was called in my last year of chiropractic school. I would like to get involved in the transition to expand chiropractic to the miltary. How can I pursue this after the deployment? My e-mail is ****************. My # is **********.

    Reply
    1. cmnacnud Post author

      Lt. Johnson,
      I’d love to say there was an easy way to to get involved in the commissioning of chiropractors. There isn’t even a large movement that you can join. At this point it’s really just a matter of individual effort. There are chiropractors working with the military already, but they are not at every treatment facility and they are not commissioned. All I can give you is what I’m doing. Here is the website that I use to distribute information: http://commissionchiropractors.com/ That’s where I will post any new updates and action that I find can be taken. The best thing that can be done right now is to meet with as many people of influence as possible. If you talk to your C.O. about chiropractic and request it if you ever go to a clinic then people in high places will get the idea. I am talking with my senators about it now, but congress has already given permission for it to happen. Right now it’s stalled in the pentagon. So, anyone you know who may have influence there would be great to meet with. It only takes one person high enough up to make this happen. I will add you to my mailing list in case there is good news that I find. Thanks for your comments.

      Reply
  6. Jacob Barker

    I am a cadet in Army ROTC. I have been interested in becoming a Chiropractor, but had almost given up hope. I like the Army and plan to get my twenty. I was told when I joined that there was no room for Chiropractors in the Army. I have had many conversations with my NCO’s about DC’s in the Army and they have all agreed that it is way past due. I will do my best to pass the word around. I would love to help further this cause. If there is anything I can do, let me know.

    Reply
    1. cmnacnud Post author

      Thank you for your support. The best thing to do at this point is to do just that spread the word around and contact your congressmen. They have already passed the law, but they collectively have the power to force the DoD to actually implement it. Call the White House. All Obama has to do to make it a reality is say “do it.”

      Reply
  7. Dr. David A. Warkentin

    It is high time that the military commision chiropractic physicians as they would any physician. The vast amounts of good having a chiropractor on the battlefield would be indescribable..So many young men and women with musculo-skeletal injuries that could be corrected in a very short period of time and keep them on the battlefield and out of the hospital would serve all branches of the armed services well. Every state recognizes Chiropractic physicians as primary care doctors, yet the men and women who need these services more than most have no access to this specialized portion of medicine. Lets all move into the new millinium together. Chiropractic and what chiropractic has to offer active and retired military personnel would save the government billions in healthcare costs down the road and a much happier military.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

