Body Worlds

My wife took me to Body Worlds 3, a current exhibit in Salt Lake City, for a date.  My wife is facinated by the study of anatomy.  I got plenty at school.  It was a very well done presentation, and admirable as far as the preservation techniques that have been developed.

Gunther von Hagens' BODY WORLDS, Institute for Plastination, Heidelberg, Germany, http://www.bodyworlds.com

I found the whole presentation a little odd in that it was more art than study.  There was no particular order to any of it.  I think it would have been better if they added a story line such as following the different systems or perhaps explaining what was displayed.  Though that may be my further study on the subject speaking because my wife said that she thought the explanations were interesting.  I thought they were shallow, and wanted more.

I did enjoy teaching, there was a high school group that went through at the same time as we did, and I had the opportunity to explain some things to the students.  I also found it humorous when some of the chaperones that were with them tried to explain things but found themselves at a loss.  The students asked very good questions.

Gunther von Hagens' BODY WORLDS, Institute for Plastination, Heidelberg, Germany, http://www.bodyworlds.com

I was most impressed with the talent of the artist to tease out even the smallest of nerves and vessels.  This was a great opportunity for me to see well prosected models.  We weren’t able to take pictures inside of the exhibit, so you’ll have to settle for the marketing shots.  If you are curious and want to learn more about your body I would recommend this exhibit.  If you are squeemish however just check out an anatomy book from you local library instead.

2 thoughts on “Body Worlds

  1. trishelle

    For me, watching you teach was one of the delightful elements of the experience. You are a phenomenal teacher and you had such an excitement about what you were educating the observers about. It made the learning all the more interesting.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

