Artists and Chiropractic

Regarding my post asking if I should do a series on careers that need chiropractic or common injuries, I have decided to do both because it gives me flexibility.  I’m going to start with a group I visited last month.  I attended the Plein Air Festival at Thanksgiving Point.  I went to talk chiropractic with some artists.  I saw some great art, and talked to quite a few great artists.  I didn’t get contact info for all of them that I would have wanted to.  The ones that I did get I wanted to give a link to, so here are some of them:

Cristall Harper – She was fun to watch and engaging.  She actually encouraged people to ask questions and talk to her while she was painting.  I really enjoyed her portrait work.  I watched her paint this poppy, and while her work on Saturday didn’t win at this competition it has won awards since.

Scott Streadbeck – His sulptures were amazing.  They captured life.  His website has some good pictures, but the only way to view a sculpture really is in real life.  You have to be able to see the back side to know how much effort is really involved.

James Christensen – He is a very well known artist.  I got to watch him work for a while.  It was a fun piece, not the usual for what I saw everyone else doing, but it’s what he wanted to do.  I never did get to see the finnished piece.  While talking to him I told him that when I was young I thought I was a pretty good artist, but that I found physiology more interesting as I got older.  He said that was why he was a painter, because he never found anything more interesting.

Steven Adams – Had won this festival the previous year.  When talking to him I discovered why many painters don’t do a lot of Plein Air work.  The light keeps changing.  A cloud moves in front of the sun, or the sun has changed positions by the time you come back from getting a bite to eat.  Lighting can make all the difference.

There were others doing great work out there, and I may put up links as I find more contact info.  Painters and Sculptors are a unique breed of people with unique health issues.  These people stay still for much of their work day, often only using fine motor skills for hours to create the finest of details.  They stand at an easel, hunch over a drafting table or a sculpture for hours at a time.  Their arms are constantly up working.  This can cause neck and shoulder pain as well as overuse issues such as carpal tunnel.  Being still for so long can cause anyone to ache, and the positions can take a great toll on the low back.  You can do things on your own, the usual diet and exercise are key, but more important is that you move, don’t get stuck in one position for too long, and stretch before and after you work.  Your local provider can give you specific stretches for your particular needs

If you are an artist struggling with muscle or joint issues, the most important thing to do is to seek help.  Even if you don’t have the finances please see a professional before it ruins your career.  Often people are more than willing to work out a deal to help you out.  Whether it’s a trade or a payment plan.  Doctors usually get into health care because they want to help people, give them the excuse to help and they will

2 thoughts on “Artists and Chiropractic

  1. Laurie Lisonbee

    I came across your discussion when I did a search on my artist-friend, Cristall Harper.

    You are so right about artists’ need to be particularly aware and proactive about their work position and health care! How refreshing and unusual to find a healthcare professional paying attention to the unique medical issues of artists. I am an artist who has learned I can prevent some crushing headaches by standing at an eye-level easel, rather than working on a table. My work is very meticulous, and even standing, I still sometimes find myself at the physical therapist’s office when a painting is finished. I am a big believer in the health benefits of chiropractic as well as physical therapy and yoga (as you can see from my website). These are far better than pain medications and surgeries.

    Another big concern for artists is exposure to toxic chemicals.

    It would be great if you could write a column for a magazine such as The Artist’s Magazine or American Artist.

    Laurie Lisonbee

    Reply
  2. cmnacnud Post author

    Thanks for your comment. I’m glad you found me.

    I really liked your work on your site (everyone go check it out). I hope you used pictures to work from. If not, send those models to me they’ll need some chiropractic after holding those poses.

    If you ever need some chiropractic help or know any fellow artists who do, please send them my way. I am open to trades, and I’m just down the hill from the University Mall.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

