Free Chiropractic Care for a Year For Returning Veterans

I applaud the chiropractors who have joined in this effort. I love the idea of this. Here is my problem. The United States Congress granted chiropractic coverage for all our soldiers. They just can’t really use it. I’m grateful that other chiropractors patriotically support our troops. I’m still wrestling with the idea of joining them. I don’t want to harm the troops in my effort to help them.

Dr. Duncan as a little boy welcoming his Daddy home from Iraq

Dr. Duncan as a little boy welcoming his Daddy home from Iraq

I think instead of treating these troops for free, chiropractors should demand that the pentagon fulfill the law requiring them to provide chiropractic care for all of our military personnel. I think instead of treating these brave men and women for free we should charge for it, (not charge the troops). We should keep the records and instead of writing it off we should send the bills to the pentagon, to congress, to the White House, and to the press. The people should know when our government isn’t keeping it’s promises to our fighting forces. So I will not charge an Iraq/Afgan war veteran for his care, but I will hold the government accountable.

Dr. Duncan's brother in law in Iraq

Dr. Duncan's brother in law in Iraq

I feel we can better support our troops by taking action to get them the care they need when they need it. They should not have to wait until they come home, and then pay out of pocket for something that has been promised them. Let’s back our troops. Let’s get chiropractic to them overseas where they need it. If that means me going, then I’ll go, and proudly. I would rather not leave my wife and children, but if it means getting the troops the care they need then I will. Commission chiropractors in the US military or at the very least provide the care through contracted positions, but get our troops the care they need now!

Dr. Duncan's Mother polishing the graves of U.S. soldiers from the Battle of the Bulge. "We have gone forth from our shores repeatedly over the last hundred years and we’ve done this as recently as the last year in Afghanistan and put wonderful young men and women at risk, many of whom have lost their lives, and we have asked for nothing except enough ground to bury them in, and otherwise we have returned home to seek our own, you know, to seek our own lives in peace, to live our own lives in peace. But there comes a time when soft power or talking with evil will not work where, unfortunately, hard power is the only thing that works." - Colin Powell

Dr. Duncan's Mother polishing the graves of U.S. soldiers in Europe from WWII. "We have gone forth from our shores repeatedly over the last hundred years...and put wonderful young men and women at risk, many of whom have lost their lives, and we have asked for nothing except enough ground to bury them in..." - Colin Powell

I support our troops. I grew up as an army brat, and would love to see our soldiers recieving chiropractic care. I know it can reduce costs, improve readiness and morale, and reduce the number of troops lost to unnecessary discharge from active duty.

So, I may join in this movement that seems to be growing, but my press release will be a little different. Watch for it.

2 thoughts on “Free Chiropractic Care for a Year For Returning Veterans

  1. Alex

    I found your site on technorati and read a few of your other posts. Keep up the good work. I just added your RSS feed to my Google News Reader. Looking forward to reading more from you down the road!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

