M.A.S.H. Tribute to Chiropractic

M.A.S.H. is one of my favorite TV shows. I don’t think that there is an episode that I haven’t seen. Yet M.A.S.H. played for so many episodes that I love to rewatch them, as there are still things that I didn’t get the first 10 or so times. I also remember as a kid growing up that M.A.S.H. came on after bedtime, and my Dad would stay up to watch it. When I got old enough that my bedtime was useless I enjoyed this bonding time with my father.

I also love the show because the humor is thoughtful. Sure there’s some base toilet humor, and slapstick, but the majority of the humor you have to be thoughtful to get. You have to be really interested in the show to catch it all. I also liked the show because it was a reasonable protest. M.A.S.H. made people think. It forced you to look at war from a new perspective, and despite all the humor in the show. it got a message across that war is a terrible thing. It was a lasting and thought provoking protest.

I also took note that even in the main character of “Hawkeye” Pierce, who was adamantly against war and fighting, there were things that he was willing to fight for. When someone would not let him save a life he was willing to fight. Some things are worth fighting for.

I know, you’re asking yourself what does this have to do with chiropractic. Well, there are 3 episodes of M.A.S.H. that I have found where spinal manipulations are represented. Not only that but they are shown to be beneficial to the people who received them. I thought it interesting that Alan Alda was actually one of the actors to portray giving an adjustment. Well enough talk. Here is one of the clips:

Leave a Reply

