What Is The “Leg Check?”

When people come to a chiropractor to have their back treated, they sometimes find it odd when I go to their feet and measure their legs. The question for this blog was “why do you do that?”

Image From Foot Levelers

When your spine and Sacroiliac Joints (SI joints – they connect your pelvis to your spine) are not functioning properly the muscles will “lock down” in an effort to in effect splint the injured area. This causes bones to be “pulled out of place.” Essentially when one side of your pelvis is being pulled tighter/higher than the other you will have a functionally long leg. Some people have one leg longer than the other anatomically, but this is a different story. When I measure your legs I am looking for confirmation of which side is “out of whack.” I am really just determining which way to adjust your SI joints. Often I will check them again after the treatment to see if the procedure was effective at treating that particular symptom.

When your legs are uneven whether it is functional or anatomical it is like always walking on an uneven surface, and can cause problems elsewhere in the body. Chiropractors treat anatomical leg length problems with heel lifts. You may have heard of Foot Levelers. Functional long legs we treat with adjustments and muscle retraining.

So…That’s why I look at your feet when you come into my office. If you are curious about your leg length set up an appointment with me or your local chiropractor.

Remember if you have other questions feel free to leave a comment. I will be happy to answer it as soon as I am able.

One thought on “What Is The “Leg Check?”

  1. maedayael

    Very interesting. I never would have thought to get a “leg check” in regards to my back treatment. Now, of course, I will have to get it done. Thanks.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

