New CPR

I recently went to re-certify my CPR training, and I remembered reading about a new CPR being done in Arizona. Sure enough I found in March the American Medical Association published an article relating to it, and CNN reported on it. I thought it interesting enough to warrant a post.

Basically, in Arizona they found that survival rates tripled when rescuers abandoned rescue breathing. The new process for them is 200 compressions, shock, then repeat. This is great news.

LOST Actors doing chest compressions

TV Show Lost image capture

The average person is not going to have a defibrillator, but they can do something. The AMA publication recommends that anyone who comes across a victim at least do compressions. The American Heart Association has acknowledged the research and recommend just compressions be done by untrained persons. They still train people with conventional CPR methods. I went through my re-certification with the Red Cross. They have not yet implemented this new method, saying that it still needs further research, though they say doing anything is often better than doing nothing. I’m not aware of any national organization that has adopted the new technique in their training.

The great news is that now anyone can help. Even if you’re worried because you don’t know what to do (like the actors on LOST) you can call 911 and then do chest compressions till someone better trained comes along.

One of the main reasons that I got into health care is because I hate feeling unable to help. Later this year I plan to begin EMT training. In chiropractic school we receive advanced first aid training, but it’s nothing compared with what paramedics go through. I may never have to use the training, but I want to know that I can if I need to.

2 thoughts on “New CPR

  1. rochesterchiro

    There are a lot of chiropractor/emt’s. In fact, the executive director of the New York State Chiropractic Association (who happens to be a DC/EMT) thinks it should be a requirement for chiropractic students to go through EMT training. I tend to agree. I have certainly used my EMT and ambulance training in my office on occasion. Most recently, when a patient decided to have a stroke in my waiting room and another time when a young girl choked on a piece of candy while I was treating her father.

    The outcomes of both situations were excellent as a result of quick thinking and experience in emergency medicine.

    Enjoy your EMT studies – academically, they will be easy compared to chiro school but an entirely different experience. As chiropractors we improve lives every day but rarely do we actually save them (a couple of cancer diagnoses here and there not withstanding). The work of an EMT is another story entirely.

    Reply
  2. Betsy Gordon

    Hi —

    That’s a terrific plan! Hope you enjoy your emergency medical training — it should be a great complement to your chiropractic knowledge.

    Thanks,

    Betsy

    Reply

Leave a Reply

